Police Service Museum

The Police Museum was formerly opened on September 22nd 2004 by the Honourable Edward Hart, Minister of State in the Ministry of Community Development, Culture and Gender Affairs, in a ceremony which was attended by Senate President Dr. Linda Baboolal. Woman Police Sergeant Sheila Prince was responsible for the vision to create the Police Museum. Constable Nigel Stephen assisted her to make this vision a reality. The National Museum was responsible for the implementation of the project as part of the expansion of museum provision and secured the services of historian and exhibit designer Gerard Besson to assist WP Sgt. Prince and Constable Stephen.

The History of the Police Force

The Police Force was around since 1592 under the control of the office of the Cabildo or Town Council. The Force consisted of no more than six men at that time. In 1783 the office of the Cabildo was removed from St. Joseph to Port of Spain. One policeman was left there and the others transferred to the new capital. By 1838 six other Police Districts were established and control of the Force was transferred to the Central Government.

Other notable dates include:

  • 1851 – The Police given duties as postmen
  • 1869 – The Police Band was established
  • 1930 – Traffic Branch established
  • 1962 – Police Service became responsible to the People of Trinidad and Tobag
  • 1970 – Eustace Bernand, First Local Commissioner of Police
  • 1989 – Civilians introduced to Police Service to perform clerical duties
  • 1996 – Police Complaints Authority established

Opening Hours

Tuesday – Thursday 9 am – 5pm

Saturday 10 am – 3 pm.

School groups and others are welcomed to book trips to the Museum. Groups are given guided tours and lectures/talks are conducted by Museum Staff and members of the Community Police Unit.

Old Police Headquarters - St. Vincent Street, Port of Spain.
Telephone Contact: 624-6722